Empathy Sessions
5th Istanbul Design Biennial

Undercurrent

Alice dos Reis, 2019
15’ 

Undercurrent is a science-fiction film about a marine biologist who is leading a project for the mapping of one of the deepest areas of the North Atlantic Ocean. Her project depends on the controversial use of a developing biotechnology that works directly with a species of krill that live at low depths.

Throughout months of observation and communication, the marine biologist develops a relationship of friendship and kin with the krill swarm, while observing their movements through the nano-cameras incorporated into their bodies as they slowly move through the deeper zones of the ocean. As the end of her project approaches, the biologist is faced with ethical questions regarding her relationship to the non-human and the systems that mediate their contact with humans. 

Share

Past Screening
15 October Thursday
13:00
Past Screening
18 October Sunday
13:00
Past Screening
22 October Thursday
13:00
Past Screening
25 October Sunday
13:00
Add calendar
29 October Thursday
13:00
Add calendar
01 November Sunday
13:00
Add calendar
05 November Thursday
13:00
Add calendar
08 November Sunday
13:00
Add calendar
12 November Thursday
13:00
Add calendar
15 November Sunday
13:00
Other Films