New Sounds


30 March 2019 / 17:00

Pera Museum presents “New Sounds”, a musical project inspired by Suna and İnan Kıraç Foundation collections. The project that aims to re-explore the museum collections through different modes of expression, features composers, musicians or artists engaging with different musical genres inspired by the “Orientalist Painting”, “Anatolian Weights and Measures” and “Kütahya Tiles and Ceramics” collections. The project presents compositions by Şirin Pancaroğlu and Bora Uymaz, Burak Özdemir & Musica Sequenza, Mehmet Yaranona and Koray Erkan, Alican Çamcı as well as Meriç Artaç in a series of performances and sound installations in October 2018-May 2019 season.

For the installation titled Panorama, Alican Çamcı makes a sound documentary inspired by the changing face of Istanbul as well as his own personal relationship to the city. At the centre of this documentary, which is a combination of field sound recordings, interviews, and music pieces that are referenced partially or fully, lies the piano adaptation of a motet-chanson composed by Guillaume Dufay in the 15th century. The piece titled Lamentatio sanctae matris ecclesiae Constantinopolitanae, is an elegy that Dufay has written a year after Istanbul’s conquest in 1453. The installation is hosted by a piano: Belonged to Maria Callas back then, and housed by the Museum today, the piano is surrounded by a metal structure, which is transformed into a speaker by the transducers, and became a structure that the installation can be listened. The installation can be experienced as it is, as well as functioning as a background to a live performance. A piece that interacts with the installation for piano and real time electronics is performed by Jerfi Aji. Panorama can be experienced at the Museum’s Orientalist Paintings Collection exhibition floor for one month following the performance.

Alican Çamcı

Jerfi Aji, piano
Alican Çamcı, electronics

Alican Çamcı
Alican Çamcı’s output includes works for small and large ensembles, electro-acoustic compositions, solo instrumental music, and sound installations. His recent works feature an investigation of sound as a potentially documentary medium. He seeks to explore this aspect through the use of field and speech recordings, found sounds, everyday materials in relation to the performative dimension introduced by the musicians in a live situation.

A native of Istanbul, Turkey, he studied composition at the Peabody Conservatory with Michael Hersch. Currently he is a Ph.D. candidate in the University of Chicago, where he continues his studies with Augusta Read Thomas, Anthony Cheung, and Sam Pluta. In addition to his studies, he has received further instruction from composers such as, Clarence Barlow, Carola Bauckholt, Pierluigi Billone, Beat Furrer, Georg Friedrich Haas, Isabel Mundry, Alberto Posadas, and Matthias Spahlinger in masterclasses and academies such as ManiFeste 2017, Forum des Jeunes Compositeurs 2016, Impuls 2015, among others. His music has been performed by ensembles such as Ensemble Dal Niente, ECCE, eighth blackbird, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Ensemble Mise-en, International Contemporary Ensemble, Le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Oerknal!, Spektral Quartet, the [Switch~ Ensemble], and soloists such as Jerfi Aji, Miranda Cuckson, Gleb Kanasevich, Ciro Longobardi, Andrew Nogal, Heather Roche, Eva Zöllner, and Stas Venglevski. In addition to his concert music, his collaborative work with the Turkish filmmaker and media artist Deniz Tortum have been featured in festivals and exhibitions such as Sharjah Biennial Istanbul Offsite 2017, IFF Colombo 2014, SXSW 2013, !F Istanbul 2013, and 22nd Istanbul Short Film Festival.

The performance "Panorama" will take place at the Pera Museum Orientalist Painting Collection exhibition floor. Admission with museum ticket.